Your are here:


Fatehabad District lies at 29° 31' N latitude and 75° 27' E Longitude and is bound by Punjab in North, Hisar district in south, Jind district in East and Rajasthan and Sirsa district in the West. As per 2001 census Fatehabad is home to 806158 people, the sex ratio being 853 females to 1000 males and the literacy rate is 58.17%.

Proximity to the desert of Rajasthan brings in lots of sand deposit, which set down as mounds, ridges and even dunes making the land unproductive. Fossil dunes concentrate in south and south-east of Fatehabad and the water is generally brackish. The Bhakra Nangal Project has caused rapid changes in water table configuration and now the Bhakra and Jamuna canals along with the seasonal Ghaggar drain Fatehabad.

All the villages have electricity and are extensively provided with marketing and storage facilities for agricultural products. Animal husbandry also contributes towards the district's economic scenario. Metalled roads provide intra-district communication in Fatehabad. The NH-10 and broad-gauge railways connect the district to Delhi and Punjab. Improved infrastructural facilities have led to the development of nearly 40 big industries and thousands of small and medium scale industries, bringing in economic distribution within the district.

Named after Fateh Khan, the son of Firoze Shah Tughlaq, the district reached its height of glory in the medieval period. Excavations have also led to the discovery of pre-Harappan fort-town.
The district of Sirsa was brought to an end in the November month of the year 1884. Thus after the allocation of all the villages, the Sirsa Tehsil was constructed. Budhlada, a disconnected block of Kaithal Tehsil, constituting of 15 villages, was reallocated to Fatehabad Tehsil. On 1st January, 1891, eradication of the Barwala Tehsil, having villages, took place. The region was then divided into three portions and was added to the three neighboring tehsils. Hansi got 13 villages; Hissar got 24 villages, while 102 villages were added to Fatehabad. Simultaneously, Bhiwani Tehsil obtained 13 villages from Hissar Tehsil. In Fatehabad Tehsil, a Tohana sub-tehsil was created. Again, the Hissar Tehsil obtained the Tohana sub-tehsil of the Fatehabad in 1923. The Tohana sub-tehsil was given the status of a tehsil in 1972.

In 1979 two more sub-tehsils were created; one was Fatehabads Ratia sub-tehsil and the second one was Adampur sub-tehsil of Hissar Tehsil. A total of 486 villages constituted the district of Hissar at the end of the year of 1978. The allocation of the villages among the tehsils were; 166 villages of Fatehabad, 115 villages of Hissar, 119 villages of Hansi while Tohana had 86 villages. On 15th July, 1997 the status of a full district was given to Fatehabad. At present it constitutes of three sub-divisions, three tehsils and three sub-tehsils.