Your are here:


Beed is the main administrative headquarter of Beed District, which is located in the state of Maharashtra. It has the largest urban area and covers an area of approximately 10,693 sq. km. This town was once known as Champavati Nagari and featured a variety of monuments. Beed was part of Marathwada during the 19th century and was named Bhir by Muhammad Tughlaq.

During the 1990s, the Shiv Sena government proposed to rename the town as Champavatinagar. Historians believe that this town was founded by the Yadava rulers (1173 – 1317) of Devagiri. The town was also part of the State of Hyderabad and after Indian Independence; it was annexed to India on September 1948.

After 1956, Beed was included in the Bombay Presidency from Hyderabad. Beed became part of Maharashtra on 1st May 1960, when the state of Maharashtra was created on linguistic basis. It is a Marathi dominated town which features numerous historical buildings, such as Kankaleshwar Temple.

Beed town is located on the Deccan Plateau, which lies on the banks of the Bendsura River, the tributary of the Godavari River. The Bendsura River originates from the Balaghat range and divides Beed into western and eastern parts. Beed covers an area of around 10,692 sq. km and the temperature in the region usually varies from 200 Celsius to 400 Celsius. The important folk arts of the region include Vasudev, Bahurupi and Gondhal.

This town is a famous tourist spot, especially due to the historic forts in Dharur, Yogeshwari Mandir and various others. The local inhabitants are mainly Maharashtrian and the chief languages spoken are Hindi and Marathi. These local inhabitants largely depend upon agriculture for their livelihood. This destination is mainly visited during the months of June through October.